Achievement Unlocked: Game Maker

Image

Pffs.. Not really. Technically, but.. nah. I’ve been tinkering around lately with RMVX Ace exploring all the magic you could do with the events.

It’s also pretty weird that the only game making engine from Enterbrain that I’ve made an actual game was RMXP, considering that I have most of the RPG Maker series installed on my PC. (RMXP, RMVX, RMVX Ace) Plus, that game was total rubbish in my opinion- well, at least my friends from 5th grade didn’t think so (I was able to sell about three copies for about a buck each o.o) But that was literally 3 years ago and I’ve only resumed making games… well, now.

I’m currently working on a project I’ve started to call “Destiny Forge.”

My plan was to create multiple endings based on player discoveries and decisions. Hence, the name. The image on top is actually a map I made for the game, but it has nothing to do with the story or the lore whatsoever. It’s just a map I brought up to be scrolling background for the intro- for entertainment’s sake.

I haven’t really made an actual storyline yet, but I’m planning to do so simultaneously with the Event/Map/Character/Equipment/Script making. As you can see, I have a whole workload to do.

What I have made actual progress on was an in-game “Tutorial Mode” in the game’s intro.

This mode is optional, meaning that the player can freely choose whether or not he wants to undergo the tutorial. It covers the basic controls in moving, accessing the menu, and a sample battle.

The sample battle will pretty much give you a little… “added perk” which a small amount of gold and some experience, probably. I haven’t really thought of that yet. This means that players who go through the “Tutorial Mode” would probably have an easier early game.

So.. That’s about it for my first blog post. I look forward to my next one.

EDIT: Removed sample battle.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

